Tags

, , ,

So I, like many of my peers, proclaimed late in my teens and early into my twenties that I. Was. Never. Growing. Up.

Well guess what? I did.

There are things in my life now that I find affect me differently than they did seven years ago. For example, I use the air conditioning in the car now when I drive to work in the summer, especially when it is hot. I feel like I used to accept the challenge of windows down always a few years ago, but damn it feels good to be a gangster (with a credit card and enough money to pay for gas).

I have also started accepting the fact that I am not as buoyant as I used to be. The irony of this is that I actually weigh less now than I did when I was a teenager! Swimming is a lot harder.

And from my last point – gym class was not the devil; I am tons more active now than I was in high school and I have an idealistic view of healthy eating. And I enjoy it.

Staying up all night just to prove that you can out party everyone else is actually the worst idea in the world. No one is tired like an adult is tired – and I don’t have kids or pets…this can only get worse. A goodnight sleep really does refresh you and make you feel better. But you can never tell a kid or a teenager that, so sorry parents; had to figure this one out on my own.

Grown-ups accept who they are and don’t try to be something they are not. Now, I kind of always marched to the beat of my own drum; and I know too many adults who try way too hard to impress other people, but you are who you are and you are also not going to change other people (grown ass men in their 30s should really take this one to heart).

All in all, growing up ain’t half bad.

