Tags

, , , ,

In my quest of CSA living, I have decided that I am going to stick to my roots of inventive cooking. It really is what I do best; especially because I don’t have the patience for a recipe, and frankly I really don’t want someone else telling me what to do.

So I made some fantastic stir-fry with four ingredients from my CSA haul this week. My recipes are actually terrible, because like I said, I make it up as I go along and I am inventive – so I don’t really use measurements. So use this as a guide for your own creation!

Snow Pea Stir-Fry with Peanut Butter Soy Sauce

  • Trimmed snow peas – I used everything that I got from the farm this week, I would guess 2-3 cups
  • Trimmed and cubed radishes – okay, I know you can’t cube a radish; but I cut them into maybe ¼ inch chunks. Again, I used everything that I ad – maybe about a half of a cup
  • 1-2 scallions; about 4 stems on each one, diced to your desired size. I use literally the entire thing except for the root part at the bottom. This is a ton of scallions since they came from the farm and they are super long and very flavorful and fragrant. But scallions are a great addition at the end of the meal and each person can add as many or as little as they want.
  • 2 ½ garlic scapes – again; fresh garlic would work perfectly but this is what I had and it has a really great bite to it – which I love.

Everything above this line came from the farm; the rest of my experiment cooking came from the cabinet and the fridge and I would guess most people have the same
types of ingredients at their homes as well.

  • 1-2 handfuls of toasted cashews (tips on this below) – I had an afterthought of using toasted sesame seeds; but I am happy it was an afterthought because the sesame seed and cashew flavors would have clashed and been a little too much together. But I think toasted sesame seeds alone would have been killer too. So anyway, I used salted cashews because that is what I had – but  let me stress to not add any extra salt to this dish if you are doing the same.
  • 3-4 tablespoons of peanut butter (I really like peanut butter!) – again, this was not an organic or specialty peanut butter; just chunky Skippy (I eat way too much peanut butter to get expensive and fancy about it). This also is salty; so keep that in mind!
  • 3-4 tablespoons of soy sauce – another salty addition. If you happen to have reduced sodium soy sauce, use it!
  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil (or whatever type of oil you cook with; this is just to coat the skillet so nothing sticks)

So let’s get cooking!

  1. Toast your cashews! Use the same skillet you will for the veggies; but don’t add any oil. Heat it up on medium to low heat and add in the nuts. Stir continuously or keep a very close eye on these as they toast quickly. They will get very fragrant when they are done – 5 minutes tops. Set aside.
  2. Combine the soy sauce and peanut butter in a large bowl. Don’t be scared to taste this while you are mixing. Don’t add all of the soy sauce at once either; it is a strong flavor (which I like) and you might not need so much of it. I also like a lot of sauce on my food; so you may find less of both will suffice. Set this aside.
  3. In a large skillet (or wok if you have it!) heat up the oil on medium heat. Add in the snow peas, radishes, scallions and garlic scape. Cook this until the vegetables are tender to how you like them. 4-5 minutes for more raw and crunchy veggies; I would say closer to ten minutes for them to be more thoroughly cooked through. Just be careful not to burn the scallions and garlic scape! It is actually always good to add in garlic closer to the end of your cooking as not to burn it – and scallions are delicate; so I use this practice with them as well.
  4. Once cooked, remove from heat and dump the still warm veggie mixture into your big bowl over the peanut butter and soy sauce mixture. Let this melt a little bit and add in the cashews. Stir this all together; the melted sauce should coat the meal nicely.
No sauce added yet!

No sauce added yet!

What to do with leftovers?

I am a salad fiend. I put everything and anything into a salad and add balsamic and olive oil and I am happy as a clam. Is that the saying?

Anyway, these leftovers were great in salad! I didn’t use much dressing since there was a decent amount of sauce on the veggies, even cold, so they helped to coat the lettuce nicely. The cashews stayed decently crunchy and nothing lost too much flavor – there you have it for farm fresh vegetables!

