Tags

, , ,

This is my latest obsession. I am a snacker, and anything crunchy and a little salty is the most satisfying to my palate. So this pretty much leaves chips; which when made on your own are okay (but a pain) but not when eaten straight from the bag.

So my new CSA gave me two types of kale this week; and the first (and only) thing I did with it was kale chips! This was literally the easiest process in the world.

Rip up kale into desired sizes – but be sure to toss the spiny part in the center of the leaves…no dice.

Lay in a single layer on a baking sheet and (this is where I know I will get an organic food approved slap in the face; but I don’t eat organic) spray with cooking spray. Olive oil works too…or canola oil, sunflower oil – anything really – but the cooking spray was easy and didn’t mask the natural flavor of the kale like the olive oil did.

Sprinkle with some salt; depending on how salty you like to snack.

Bake for 9-10 minutes or until the pieces start to turn brown. Don’t over bake!

Transfer to a plate or somewhere to cool and you have a heavenly and easy snack!

I have also seen recipes where the kale chips are seasoned a bit more: Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, pepper…but I am not lying when I say the flavor of the cooked kale and a bit of salt are really fantastic on their own!

kale chips

