Tags

, , ,

Sometimes people quizzically ask (and judge) me why I don’t watch the morning news; opting instead for reruns of Boy Meets World or Saved By The Bell.

The answer is simple, really.

This world disgusts me. I like to wake up in the morning and be happy and positive. I don’t want to hear about gang shootings, or rapes or mass murders.

I used to watch the news in high school, to try to stay up to date on current events (keep in mind, this was before the days of iPhones and portable computers). When I got to college, I kept this habit going. But being in Baltimore and witnessing house fires and welfare on the news on a daily basis really got to me after a few months.

The events of this week are really perturbing to me. Not only was there an attack in Boston, the news is also a flurry with gun control laws not passing. Bombs and knives kill people too – not that I am a gun advocate by any means, because I am not; but gun control in the wake of these tragedies is not going to solve these problems.

After watching my hour of Boy Meets World this morning, the Top 40 radio station I listen to (New York’s, Z100; Elvis Duran and the Morning Show) I was still unable to get away from the news. So right when I turned my computer on I went immediately to Yahoo News to learn about West Texas. While the news is speculating this is an accident, they are not ruling out that it was not.

I know I can’t hide from the news; or pretend things aren’t happening – I just want to go to bed and wake up feeling good and secure and safe.

