Tags

, ,

I have straight hair. Like super crazy straight hair. Its fine (strands; that is) and its straight. I don’t use the blow dryer unless I absolutely have to (which is maybe once every 5 years) and I don’t think a flat iron has ever entered my house. I leave the house with a wet head most mornings.

hair 

Many people roll their eyes at me and tell me to shut up when this topic comes up because I just don’t understand hair. I get asked all the time how long it takes me to straighten it every day or if I have extensions; to which I can only shrug and shake my head. I also have to throw my mom a bone here, because she reads this and will never forgot to remind me that my hair came from her – so thanks mom! 🙂  

But can we focus on that nasty little saying: The Grass is Always Greener on the Other Side. 

A curling iron does nothing for me. Pull that sucker out and the hair immediately falls straight. Hair spray the crap out of unbrushed hair for a really cute beachy wavy thing and an hour later I have matted, crusty straight hair. And forget trying to brush it after that.

I also have really long hair (the extension portion of my previous statements); and that things I would do for a waterfall braid would scare some people. But no; my hair doesn’t have enough texture for a waterfall braid. French braids are a sick joke to me. If I am even able to get one started, the second it’s tied off; it slips out all over the place.

Now, products are another phenomenon that I can’t wrap my head around. I have used every shampoo and conditioner known to man to “boost volume”, “root boosting” sprays and silicone powders, gels, creams – none of which do a thing. It doesn’t matter how much money I spend on the best of the best hair care products, my hair always looks like it was washed with Suave or White Rain (which for the record I use and I save tons and tons of money) and left out to dry.

About two years ago I cut off about a foot of my hair to donate it to Locks of Love. This was the first time I had ever had short hair (it was to my collar bones) and while it was extremely easy to take care of and would at least kind of hold the beachy wavy thing a little better, I grew it right back out; and now back to where I started from.

As life goes on around me, I will simply stick with my side braid and the messy loopy thing that sits on my hair on dirty hair days – because let’s face it, it is what it is.

