Tags

, , , , ,

I am really not one to write food blogs, but I did make a really fantastic meal recently: pumpkin and ricotta wontons with a browned butter and cream sage sauce coupled with a green bean casserole.

It was simple and delicious.

I don’t really like to use recipes – I was asked recently for my recipe on the vegetarian tailgate meal I made – but I didn’t have an answer. So with this, here is my vague explanation of the meal!

Wontons: about half of a large can of pumpkin puree and one heaping spoonful of ricotta. Add in nutmeg…or any seasoning you want. They probably would have been really good with something savory mixed in, but the nutmeg was a good addition.

I store bought the wontons and put in a spoonful of the pumpkin mixture in the middle of one wonton, and slapped another on top and binded them with a little bit of water inbetween. Pan fry in a teeny bit of vegetable oil and put on a papertowl to drain. Keep them in the oven at a low temperature to keep them warm while you are finishing (and to reheat).

Sauce: Super simple – make a roux and instead of milk add in one small container of light whipping cream (or light heavy cream, which is an anomaly) and cook to reduce it down and thicken it. In the meantime, brown some butter. Add that in when it’s ready and put in sage until it tastes sage-y enough. I like it strong, but it could potentially get very intense if too much is added.

Pumpkin & Ricotta Wontons with a Browned Butter & Cream Sage Sauce

Green bean casserole: Follow the Campbell’s Kitchen recipe! Okay…this I suppose I used a recipe, but does it count that I didn’t since I have it memorized?! I like the Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic and a little extra soy sauce for some tang. Literally mix in the baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes; easiest side dish and always a crowd pleaser!

Green Bean Casserole

This meal was super easy to make and just took some imagination. Venture on Kitchen Queens!

