Tags

, , , , ,

Sometimes, I feel like I just need something comforting.

I don’t know if that means good news or a hot cup of tea; but just something to make me feel good.

Allergies in New Jersey and KILLER right now, and I cannot get myself together. This combined with a huge job interview today (Blue Eyes, not me) and a new office that I am still getting used to makes me feel two steps behind.

Not like with work: I take my job very seriously and always make myself a step ahead in that department, but it’s like I can feel a sinus infection coming on. One thing I preach is to make sure you really know your body and to treat it right, when you respect your body, it will respect you and at least give you warning that it is about to get sick. Thanks, bro.

So what is my body telling me?

  1. No appetite. Which is the best part of getting sick, since I lose about five pounds every time I get sick and those damn size zeros fit for a few weeks.
  2. Headache. A relentless headache. I feel hung over and I haven’t had a drink in almost a month.
    1. Okay, this deserves an aside. Yes, I haven’t had a drink in almost a month. Remember when Lucky Charms became disgusting and Fruit Roll-Ups started to give you a stomach ache? That’s where I am with alcohol. I like to sip on a drink or two, but then I regret doing so because I just drank unnecessary calories and I feel buzz-y for like a half hour. Pointless. But I am a cheap date now – or just the driver; which is fun because I get to drive other people’s cars since I don’t trust mine late night or going far distances. Anyone will give up their car if they can drink and not have to drive! And it is helpful as I am in the hunt for a new car. Easy test drives!
    2. Achy body. And not the way a really good workout feels either – because I have been working out like a FOOL and that type of soreness is deep. And an achy back from a long run on a treadmill is easily solved with two ibuprofen and a good night sleep. No, this achiness is the blah feeling, and it seems to not be getting worse through the workouts, which is good – but also obvious that it is the type of achiness that doesn’t come from the workout burn.
    3. Allergy related itchy nose and eyes and that pesky post nasal drip. I have the beginnings of sounding like a gremlin, or as Phoebe called it: her sexy voice.

 

Now, I am actually kind of a pro at sinus infections, which might be the worst claim in the world. They are actually awful, and you can’t think or sleep or breathe. People who have never had them don’t take them seriously, either. “Oh, come off it. You have a cold.” Yes – an infected cold with green snot and antibiotics. No biggie.

I got my tonsils taken out at age 19. Me and a room full of five-year-olds – me the only one not crying. Prior to getting those assholes taken out, I would get sinus infections about every four to six weeks from April to March. Yeah, so the whole year. This was high school and college too, folks – so there was no health-centric thinking going on. There were parties and no sleep (till Brooklyn), pizza and gluttony. That magical little (major, actually) surgery seven or so years ago was literally, like magic. I can count on two hands the amount of sinus infections I have had since then: one obligatory one a year (maybe two). And that time of year; is now! Fall freaking allergies.

So, Dr. Sheldon Cooper; I will take that hot beverage.